Shop With Moira

Daily Online Shopping Experiences

Master of Malt Keeps Us All in Good Spirits


My friend’s Mad Men party preparations are well under way and there are so many things to do! The party host’s husband reminded me, we can’t have a Mad Men party without some fine drinks. As a whisky lover (is it whisky or whiskey?), there’s always a bottle of Jameson in the house, but one bottle (or whatever that’s left of it) is not going to please 20 or maybe even 30 people!

Since Mad Men decided to take such a long break between the last season and this one (two years!), this party is going to be something special. So I went and found Master of Malt. They are devoted to find the best and rarest whiskies from around the world, as well as a decent selection of other types of hard to find spirits. Need I say, Naga chili vodka?? They sure have Jameson too, but not just any bottle, they have the Jameson Gold Reserve. I can’t wait to show the guy what I found.

Of course, he asked for it, so I sent him this great long list of possible bottles for the party. I know, I can’t have them all, but I wouldn’t even mind just one of these.

Be sure to click on the photos for more info!

 

Ardbeg Corryvreckan. 2010 winner of Whisky Mag's World Whiskies Awards as the World's Best Single Malt Whisky.

 

Johnnie Walker Blue Label King George V. The best of the best of Johnnie Walker.

 

Glenmorangie Speakeasy. Straight from the cask at the distillery.

 

21 year-old Glenfiddich in a Wedgewood decanter. I didn't even know Wedgewood made bottles! A great item for collectors.

 

Yamazaki 18 year-old. Sadly the winner of 2011 World Whiskies Award, which was Yamazaki 1984, is discontinued but this one is not a bad substitute by any means. Yamazaki has soared to the tops of the global whisky industry, putting a lot of Scots to shame.

 

Jameson 2007 Rarest Vintage Reserve. Made from some of the oldest stocks in the distillery, I can't even imagine how I'll be able to drink regular Jameson again.

 

One of the key features of this site is that you can blend your own whiskey, and they'll slap on a personalized label. They even have home mixing kits for you to try your own experiments.

 

And now for the non-whiskey list.

 

The Manhattan Cocktail. Of course! Can't have a Mad Men party without signature cocktails. With this, all I need is the cherry and I'm good to go. The Handmade Cocktail Company specializes in vintage cocktails, they also have Gin Martini and Rob Roy, among others.

 

Belvedere was the first vodka I ever had and my heart always has a soft spot for it. Little did I know that they made black raspberry vodka! There's actually several Belvedere's that I've been missing out on. How come no one told me??

 

Okay, I know Absolut comes in a million flavors, but this acai one is a new one for me.

 

Sparkling vodka? That means once the bottle is opened we HAVE to finish it! I can't help but imagine how delightful cocktails would be with this giving them a festive edge.

 

I wasn't lying when I mentioned the Naga chili vodka! Made at Master of Malt's own distillery, they claim this to have 100,000 Scoville heat units. That is a laughable amount of spice compared to what Naga chilis really have, but this has got to top all the other "spicy" drinks out there. Apparently this makes amazing bloody mary's.

 

G. Miclo Poire William Carafon (Pear in Bottle). What is it? Apparently no one knows. It is the only bottle I found on the site with no taste description. No customer reviews either. How mysterious! Yet I can't imagine any clear liquor that a pear's been soaking in to taste bad at all.

 

Monin Concombre (Cucumber) Syrup. I know, I'm weird, I like cucumber in everything. I have yet to have a cucumber flavored drink. Monin makes great syrups, and they have a huge variety of conventional and very unique flavors.

 

I had to double up on the Monin list because of this one. Matcha green tea flavored syrup? This is the first time in my life that I've ever thought of green tea and alcohol together in one sentence.

 

The company is in UK but they ship around the world. What I love is that each bottle has a lengthy description of how it’s made and the taste, whisky descriptions go even further to describe the nose, palate, and finish. If the bottle won any awards, they’ll definitely mention it too, along with any noteworthy Jim Murray score. Each distillery page has a great description of their history and process of how they make their quality drinks. They’ll even find bottles for you if you can’t find what you’re looking for on their site. Select bottles have samplers for you to try before you commit to an entire bottle. For special occasions and gifts, I cannot overlook this site.

2 comments on “Master of Malt Keeps Us All in Good Spirits

  1. Chuck
    March 9, 2012

    G-LO always seems to get to the good posts first! But great write up, I love that Glenfiddich decanter! I just bought a bottle of the Jameson Gold Reserve, and while its not that particular vintage, I can say that it quite easily made the base-line Jameson look like a tarted up teenager in comparison. Some of these sound interesting (Glenmorangie – Speak Easy) and some sound like a reaaaally bad way to end the night (Naga Chili Vodka, I just think of the possibility of this stuff coming back up and frown furiously). But overall, great post!

    Slainte,

    Chuck

    whiskeyworldtour.wordpress.com

  2. G-LO
    March 8, 2012

    I’m a huge fan of Master of Malt! Not only do they have first class customer service, they have also found a way to make whisky fun, and are breaking the stereotypes of whisky being a stodgy old man’s drink on a daily basis.

    Can’t wait for the new season of Mad Men!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2012 by in Tasty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Find me!

Follow Me on Pinterest ·

Archives

